Green Step

St. Patrick’s Day March 17 2013
This poem was written for Tent Show Radio in late 1990s.
And a happy St. Patrick’s Day to you too.

GREEN STEP

The only thing I wonder is with all of us doin’ so right,
The only things I wonder is will I ever get home tonight?

For tonight the fiddler’s on the bow
And the pipe and whistle are rollin,’
And the floor is swept up clean for the dance
And if I see her I’ll ask my chance

And if I see you I’ll empty my pockets and buy you one
Ale dark as the night is out
Or a double shot or a pint of stout

I’ll buy it and toast the glass of your eye
That shines that certain way
Especially when you’re all in green
On old St. Patrick’s Day

For all and some and those of us here
This is the night we roll up the year
Give a hand and a step to the band
Sing to the moon and the wild land.

And I wonder, and I wonder,
When shall we meet again?
For a true love and a great friend,
The only two that never end.

And I wonder, and I wonder,
With all of us doin’ so right.
I wonder, and I wonder,
Where are you tonight?

Leave a comment